More New Beginnings

I’ve been in Asheboro, North Carolina for about two months now. I moved here, following God’s call as the Director of Youth & Young Adult Ministries at First Presbyterian Church. After a crazy introduction which pretty much has just thrown me into the middle of the current, I am really starting to settle in well. My apartment looks mostly lived in. (Although the couple of students that have popped by pointed out my lack of a TV immediately.) I know my way around town. I am a member of the church, have been through committee meetings, sat in on session, assisted in worship, played softball, been in a car wreck (everyone was fine), partnered with Young Life, and fellowshipped with several other youth pastors in town.
I have such a confidence in this being the place to which God has called me, am enjoying the people at FPC and the broader Christian community. I love it here!
Tonight is huge for me. I will be kicking off the school year with the parents and students in a meeting, which I wish was going to be longer and more fun, but paperwork has to get done at some point. I am excited and certainly feel prepared, but at the same time I am stressed. This is my kick-off here and my first one as a director, so that is understandable. I am also wrestling with the weight of my call, and while I accept that whole-heartedly I am humbled that I am being entrusted with the lives and souls of these teenagers and in some senses, their families. Not that I bear that primarily or solely, but I bear it.
It is a burden that in the room tonight share. The primary responsibility parents to guard and guide their children’s spiritual upbringing. It is the same as every other area of a child’s development.
I am here as a resource to them, to help them parent better and to be there for the kids as a partner with their parents to disciple them and to foster a corporate environment where they might be drawn nearer and draw themselves nearer to Christ.
By the grace of God I go unto this great task.

One thought on “More New Beginnings

  1. It sounds like you have the right attitude going in…Feeling unprepared, unqualified, maybe like this job is too big for you and someone else should be doing it? Good. It is a big job. You are unprepared. You are unqualified. It's by the grace of God that you've been put into this position and by His grace that you'll accomplish what he puts before you. Fear is the beginning of wisdom…and it sounds like you're good and afraid. Perfect!Love you bro,Joe

Leave a Reply

